Time Flies When You’re Having Fun!

Hello everyone!
As it turns out, although people have complimented me on my blog writing abilities… I’m not so great at the act of writing said blog. Apologies for being MIA. I have decided to make another photo blog to catch you up on January, February and March!

In January I went to Edinburgh, Scotland for the Scottish Student Trampoline Open (SSTO) competition. I scored my personal best for the novice routine, however since there were many more clubs (and 78 people in my category) I didn’t place like last time. I did however fall in love with Scotland, and have an incredible time!

IMG_1816 IMG_1826

Flying into Scotland

IMG_1827 IMG_1829

Our hostel

IMG_1836 IMG_1846

Our first night out at the Caves

IMG_1861

Our coach somehow convinced him to let me rub his head and make a wish!

IMG_1894

The results from the competition (I placed 21/78).

IMG_1835 IMG_1834 IMG_1833  IMG_1835

When you take selfies on my phone, they end up on my blog. Meet Dylan, nominee for the 2014-2015 sassiest tramp(olinist) of the year award.

IMG_1914 IMG_1913

IMG_1993

Our next night out was at Cav and it was Zoo themed. I was lazy and just painted myself to look mildly like a Zebra. However many people fully committed with a onesie.

IMG_1888IMG_1889

I snuck out of the second day of competition to go visit The Elephant House where J.K. Rowling wrote the Harry Potter series. Now, I will admit I went here purely for the shameless tourist reasons but the food is actually SO delicious. Do yourself a favour and go eat this brie, mango, and bacon panini ASAP.

IMG_1924

So much yes!

IMG_1897 IMG_1898

So you could say Scotland is pretty I guess.

IMG_1955

The National Museum of Scotland is free and it has a rooftop terrace with an incredible view of the city and the Edinburgh castle.

IMG_1987

Just beware of the massage chairs at the airport. They are a little bit forward… (Massage up your bum crack anyone?)

In February miss Carly Raffiek came to visit! She is the only other person I know who was as obsessed with Ireland as I was without even having visited. Nostalgia for a place you’ve never been. It’s a thing. But now we’ve been and it’s safe to say we both love it here!

IMG_2066 IMG_2069

Carly arrived the morning after Valentine’s Day at 5am. So naturally I greeted her at the airport wearing club clothes with a heart shaped balloon in hand.

IMG_2100

We discovered these palm trees and were afraid that perhaps we were on the wrong island.

IMG_2102 IMG_2104

Carly got to ride the infamous Dublin bus that I complain about so often in my Facebook status updates. However, we experienced no issues while she was here. Typical!

IMG_2111 IMG_2113

We did the usual tourist things. Sitting in Molly Malone’s basket. (For reference: https://youtu.be/vdxLxnhGnvo)

IMG_2119

We tried a Prosecco and Guinness cocktail, and we are still unsure if we liked it.

IMG_2147

We were able to grab dessert and coffee at the famous Bewley’s Café on Grafton street the week before it closed. Good timing!

IMG_2153IMG_2155

IMG_2165IMG_2162

IMG_2158 IMG_2154

We went to Antrim in Northern Ireland and got to see the Dark Hedges. This place was so cool! As you walk through the trees they don’t even look real. You feel like you’re in a painting. They are famous for their use as King’s Road in the tv show Game of Thrones.

IMG_2167IMG_2178IMG_2185IMG_2190IMG_2191IMG_2194IMG_2197IMG_2203IMG_2215IMG_2206IMG_2234IMG_2214

By far the most exciting part of the trip was getting to see the Giant’s Causeway in Northern Ireland. This has been #2 on my bucket list of places I wanted to see in the world for as long as I can remember. (#1 was Venice which I was able to see in the summer of 2012). I couldn’t help but cry as I walked down the path and finally saw this standing in front of me. It made me think how incredibly lucky I am to be in a position where my family can help realize my dream of living in Ireland. And how lucky I am to have experienced this with my good friend Carly.

As if that wasn’t enough, I also had a two-week midterm break immediately following my birthday. I asked for money to be able to travel and planned a week long trip to Scandinavia. Despite Norwegian air going on strike and all of my flights being cancelled during the week, it was one of the most incredible experiences of my life. I learned so much about myself and the world while travelling solo for the first time ever. I cannot recommend solo travel enough! It is truly a great experience.

IMG_2324

I FaceTimed into my parents signing Happy Birthday and eating cake in my honour on my birthday. And then I cried a lot because I missed my family, but let’s skip to the fun pictures from my trip…

IMG_2403 IMG_2453

Everyone rides bikes in Copenhagen. The photo on the right is Nyhavn (the classic postcard, harbour photo)

IMG_2417

This is me taking a selfie with the Little Mermaid Statue from a boat. You would have too, don’t lie.

IMG_2424 IMG_2432 IMG_2430 IMG_2425

Pictures from around Copenhagen.

IMG_2437 IMG_2438

Relaxing in my hostel. It had curtains on each bed so it was like camping in a tent and you had your privacy… to lay down with a Sephora face mask.. or whatever it is you do with your free time.

IMG_2455 IMG_2461 IMG_2459IMG_2434

Exploring the city.

IMG_2471IMG_2464IMG_2465IMG_2468IMG_2470 IMG_2469

By far the coolest experience in Copenhagen was hanging out in the Freetown where the government has no authority. There is a ‘greenlight district’ where they sell weed products. Besides this though, the community is full of artists, athletes, and generally really awesome people. I spent nearly a whole day wandering around here. It’s on the waterfront and it’s absolutely gorgeous. Definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Denmark. There are however three rules: No photos (what we do here is technically still illegal), No running (it causes a panic), and Have fun!  **Photos were allowed in the areas where I took them. I’m not that much of a rebel haha**

IMG_2555IMG_2495IMG_2498IMG_2515IMG_2549 IMG_2548 IMG_2547

They have trampolines in the street! Safe to say I am in love with this city!

IMG_2533 IMG_2531 IMG_2530IMG_2535

On the recommendation of several people I visited the Paludan café. LOVED it. Passing on the suggestion to anyone who plans on traveling to Copenhagen.

IMG_2534 IMG_2526

Lastly, I did my little sister duty and picked up a Lego keychain for my older brother Josh. Lego was created in Denmark! Leggodt in Danish means “play well”.

IMG_2578IMG_2579

Next I ate a hot dog (they are really good in Denmark) and grabbed an express train to Stockholm.

IMG_2598  IMG_2609

IMG_2609IMG_2614

IMG_2610 IMG_2612

I started out my time in Stockholm with a Viking Sauna Tour. I heated myself up to 95 degrees Celsius (yup, 5 degrees short of BOILING point), and then dunked myself into the freezing cold waters of the Baltic Sea. Three times. It’s an insanely cool experience that causes chemical reactions in your body similar to that caused by drugs. It was an amazing day.

IMG_2635 IMG_2637

As any political science student would do, I explored the parliament buildings. I also visited this square on the right, which, ironically is actually a giant circle…

IMG_2644IMG_2668 IMG_2667IMG_2688

Exploring the old town. And paying a visit to the smallest statue in Sweden.

IMG_2687

I finished my last night in Stockholm with a classic Swedish meatball dinner. It lived up to my expectations and more. (Bla Dorren, or Blue Door restaurant in English).

Last stop on my trip was Oslo, Norway. I only had one night in Oslo, but I fell in love with Norway. My flight getting cancelled meant I had a five hour scenic train ride through the Norwegian country side and it was absolutely stunning!

IMG_2697 IMG_2707 IMG_2715IMG_2713 IMG_2710IMG_2722 IMG_2724IMG_2754 IMG_2745IMG_2737 IMG_2746IMG_2731

IMG_2744IMG_2740

I had to have the most expensive Big Mac in the world. (This is also my first Big Mac ever. It tasted like pickles. I don’t like pickles. Last Big Mac ever).

IMG_2749

PSA. Scandinavia invented cinnamon buns. They are really good at making them. This one was the size of my head. I have a big head. I ate it anyway.

Anyway, I am getting sick of typing so I can only imagine you must be getting bored of reading. Stay tuned for my next post which includes pictures from my sister’s visit to Ireland (and Paddy’s day), Aaquib’s visit to Dublin, and my last trampoline and cheerleading competition in Cork (featuring a visit from an ex McGill cheer buddy- Tara).

Thanks for reading! Hope you all have a lovely Easter!

xoxo Cass

Leave a comment